Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Sir Tom Voted All-time XI Right Winger

8 July 2013

Sir Tom Finney stormed to victory in the poll for PNE’s ‘Fans’ All-time XI’ right winger, as the ballot concluded on Sunday evening.

The Deepdale legend collected a staggering 74% of the votes to brush aside the likes of Lee Cartwright and Chris Sedgwick on his way to the honour.

Finney now joins Alan Kelly Snr, Graham Alexander, Ryan Kidd, Mark Lawrenson and Joe Marston in the all-time Preston side.

The Preston-born attacker made his debut for North End in 1940 and went on to appear over 400 times for his boyhood Club, scoring 187 goals in the process.

Although he played in various roles for the Lilywhites, including centre forward, he will always be remembered for his bursting runs down the sidelines in his favoured ‘outside right’ slot – the position that most closely mirrors today’s ‘winger’.

Sir Tom was knighted in the Queen’s 1998 New Year Honours, has a stand named after him at Deepale and even a statue in his image outside the ground!

Below are the results of the ‘Fans’ All-time XI’ right winger poll as voted for over the past seven days:

Sir Tom Finney           74%
Lee Cartwright            10%
Chris Sedgwick            6%
Other                         10%

This week we go in search of PNE’s all-time greatest left winger and, as always, it’s up to you, the fans, to decide who will receive the honour.

So, will David Eyres join Finney and become the second of our midfield quartet? The scouser arrived at Deepdale in 1997 and soon made his mark on Lilywhites fans with a number of all- action displays.

Or, will Sammy Taylor get the nod to play in tandem with Ryan Kidd on the left flank? He played 166 games for North End after moving to Deepdale from Scottish side Falkirk in 1955.

Former USA international Eddie Lewis is surely in with a shout. The California-born attacker made 124 appearances in a three year stint at Preston, scoring 15 goals and ensuring his status as a firm fans’ favourite.
Other names to be thrown in the hat include Ian Bryson, Kevin Kilbane and Bobby Langton – but no one is guaranteed a place in the Club’s All-time team without your vote!

So, to register your selection, simply reply to the post on Facebook, or alternatively on Twitter name your selection followed by the ‘hashtag’ of #PNEXI.

You can also email your vote to

Advertisement block