Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Joe Garner Nominated For League One Player Of The Year

16 April 2015


Joe Garner Nominated For League One Player Of The Year

16 April 2015

Preston North End striker Joe Garner has been nominated for Sky Bet League One’s Player of the Year award for 2014/15.

The Football League have announced the three-man shortlist for the Sky Bet League One Player of the Year award, with the winner to be announced on Sunday at the 10th annual Football League Awards.

The Sky Bet Player of the Year awards have been voted for by managers of the clubs in each division.

Each manager was asked to list their top five players from this season in order, with the scores added up to get a shortlist and an overall winner.

The nominees for this year's award, as voted for by Sky Bet League One managers, are Dele Alli (Milton Keynes Dons), Luke Freeman (Bristol City) and Joe Garner (Preston North End).

In winning the award, Garner would join strike partner Jermaine Beckford who has won this accolade on two separate occasions while at Leeds United.

Garner is also nominated for the Mitre Goal of the Year award alongside Rohan Ince (Brighton), Yann Kermorgant (Bournemouth), Andy Mangan (Shrewsbury Town) and Craig Westcarr (Portsmouth).

The Football League Awards celebrates on and off pitch excellence across the League's 72 clubs, rewarding players, clubs and fans.

To tie in with the 10th anniversary, this year there are a total of ten categories.

Other categories include the Family Club of the Year, Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, PFA Player in the Community, Capital One Supporter of the Year, LFE Apprentice of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

Alongside these there will be two special categories to mark the 10th anniversary of the event – the Tokio Marine Club Hero Award recognising a member of staff at each of the 72 Football League clubs, and the Football Manager Team of the Decade with 11 selected players and a manager selected based on performances from the past ten seasons.

The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 19th April 2015.

Previous Winners
2014: Adam Forshaw (Brentford)
2013: Matt Ritchie (Swindon Town/AFC Bournemouth)
2012: Jordan Rhodes (Huddersfield Town)
2011: Craig Mackail-Smith (Peterborough United)
2010: Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United)
2009: Matt Fryatt (Leicester City)
2008: Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United)
2007: Billy Sharp (Scunthorpe United)
2006: Lee Trundle (Swansea City)

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit or search for #FLAwards on Twitter.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account