Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Voting Now Open For MBNA North-West Football Awards

20 August 2015

Paul Huntington and Daniel Johnson are in the running for accolades at the upcoming MBNA North-West Football Awards.

Central defender Huntington capped off a fantastic season by adding the club’s Player of the Year award to his Preston Supporters Group gong – and now he has the chance to add the League One Player of the Year Award to that collection.

Hunts was a rock at the heart of the PNE defence after returning to the league side at Gillingham in October – marking his comeback with a goal that night.

And an outstanding personal season ended for Huntington with the highest of highs, a goal at Wembley as North End clinched promotion to the Championship against Swindon Town.

That was Huntington’s ninth goal of the campaign – an incredible tally for a centre half.

By winning the North-West award, the PNE No.23 would be following in the footsteps of teammate Joe Garner who claimed the accolade in 2014.

In the ‘Rising Star’ category, North End’s January acquisition Daniel Johnson is in the running.

The former Villa man, signed by Simon Grayson for £50,000, made his North End debut in a 2-1 defeat away at Crawley Town on the final day of January – a defeat which was to be the Lilywhites’ last in Sky Bet League One action for three months; Johnson’s arrival playing a big part in that as he contributed eight goals.

And with a promotion medal now under his belt, the Jamaican will be looking to kick on in his inaugural season as a Championship footballer.

Voting for the Player of the Year and Rising Star categories is open until Friday, 16th October. Fans can cast their votes at

So get behind Paul and Daniel by voting now!

The full list of nominations is:

Club                             Player of the Year     Rising Star         
Premier League

Burnley:                        Tom Heaton               N/A
Everton:                        Phil Jagielka              Brendan Galloway   
Liverpool:                      Philippe Coutinho       Raheem Sterling    
Manchester City:          Sergio Aguero            Angelino                
Manchester United:       David De Gea            Axel Tuanzebe

Blackburn Rovers:        Markus Olsson            Ryan Nyambe
Blackpool:                   N/A                            Henry Cameron
Bolton Wanderers:       Tim Ream                   Zach Clough
Wigan Athletic:            Jason Pearce              Tim Chow

League One
Crewe Alexandra:         Ben Garratt                 James Jones
Fleetwood Town:          Chris Maxwell              N/A
Oldham Athletic:          Mike Jones                 Carl Winchester
Preston North End:     Paul Huntington        Daniel Johnson
Rochdale AFC:            Ian Henderson             Jamie Allen

League Two      
Accrington Stanley:      Piero Mingoia               Josh Windass
Bury:                           Nathan Cameron           Danny Rose
Carlisle United:            Danny Grainger             Patrick Brough
Morecambe:                Shaun Beesley              Paul Mullin
Tranmere Rovers:         Max Power                   Michael Ihiekwe

National League (then Conference)
Altrincham:               Tom Marshall                  James Lawrie
Chester:                    Ben Heneghan               Ben Heneghan
Macclesfield Town:    George Pilkington           Daniel Cowan
Southport:                Luke Foster                    Charlie Joyce

                              Female Player of Year   Rising Star
Premier League
Everton:                    Gabby George               Gabby George
Liverpool:                   Fara Williams                Maz Pacheco
Manchester City:        Jill Scott                       Nikita Parris

Advertisement block