Skip to main content Skip to site footer

PNE Double Winners At North West Football Awards

17 November 2015

Manager Simon Grayson and defender Paul Huntington both picked up awards at Monday night's North West Football Awards.

North End had four nominations at the ceremony, with Simon Grayson, Paul Huntington, Daniel Johnson and Jermaine Beckford all up for awards on the night. 

Simon Grayson was named Manager of the Year after a fantastic season in 2014/15, where he led PNE back to the Championship, and was presented with the award by last year's winner, Burnley boss Sean Dyche. 

After collecting the award, Grayson praised the efforts of the whole team for last season's success.

"I am really pleased to win the award, it's a great accolade to have, but I have had a lot of support from assistant managers, coaches and staff. It has been a real team effort and it's recognition for the football club, not just myself.

"We are in the middle of a tough Championship season, but you can never forget days like that at Wembley, they are few and far between so we will keep them in memory banks for years to come. 

Paul Huntington was another winner on the night, picking up the Player of the Year award, to add to his Club Player of the Year award he picked up back in May. 

It was a memorable season for the 28-year-old, after fighting for his place in the team, to scoring in the Play-Off final at Wembley, and he was delighted to win another award to top off a brilliant campaign. 

"It's obviously very pleasing, it's not just about me, it's about the team, but it's nice to get the award and shows we've been doing something right. 

"I would like to say a big thank you to the fans who've supported not only me, but the team, and who voted for me. 

"I'm obviously very proud to win the award and I've got to thank my teammates as well, for giving me a lot of help along the way and the staff for giving me the opportunity."  

Daniel Johnson was shortlisted for the Rising Star of the Year award, but was narrowly beaten to the accolade by Accrington Stanley's Josh Windass.

While Jermaine Beckford's superb finish against Chesterfield in the Play-Off semi-final second leg was nominated for Goal of the Year.

The award was voted for on the night by supporters on Twitter, and despite fantastic support for Jermaine's strike, Everton's Phil Jagielka was voted the winner for his goal against Merseryside rivals Liverpool last season. 

Congratulations to Simon Grayson and Paul Huntington on their awards. 

You can hear more from Paul Huntington on his award by clicking on the video below. 

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account