Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Beckford Makes Final Shortlist For Goal Of The Year

8 April 2016


Beckford Makes Final Shortlist For Goal Of The Year

8 April 2016

The Football League have announced the final shortlist of five goals in the running to be named Mitre Goal of the Year at the Football League Awards 2016.

Jermaine Beckford has made the top five with the overall winner bing announced on Sunday 17th April.

The players and clubs in the final shortlist for the Mitre Goal of the Year are:

- Michael Duckworth - Hartlepool United
- Kemar Roofe - Oxford United
- Jermaine Beckford - Preston North End
- Danny Williams - Reading
- Marco Matias - Sheffield Wednesday

To see all 5 goals visit

All 72 Football League clubs submitted their best goal scored in a Football League competition in the 2015 calendar year.  The top 10 contenders were then put to a public vote in partnership with Channel 5’s ‘Football League Tonight’ show, in order to select the top five goals to make the final shortlist.

The overall winner will be announced following an audience vote on the night of the Football League Awards on Sunday 17th April in Manchester.

North End's Joe Garner was the winner at last year's awards with his superb

The Mitre Goal of the Year is one of 10 categories that will see trophies presented at the Football League Awards 2016.  Shortlists for categories recognising club’s community, youth development and family focussed activity have already been announced. 

Fans in contention to be named Capital One Support of the Year will be announced on BBC 5 Live’s 606 show on Saturday, while the shortlists for the Sky Bet Players of the Year and Football League Young Player of the Year will be revealed next week. 

For the first time this year the Awards will also recognise the best 11 players and manager from across the 72 clubs, with the ‘Football Manager Team of the Season’ to be announced on the night.

The Football League Awards has a new venue this season with it being held in Manchester for the first time.  Live updates as the winners are announced will be provided via The Football League’s Twitter page, @football_league.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, visit or search #FLAwards.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account