Skip to main content Skip to site footer
First Team News

2019/20 Player Of The Year Awards: The Winners

21 July 2020

First Team News

2019/20 Player Of The Year Awards: The Winners

21 July 2020

Daniel Johnson scooped the two main awards after an impressive campaign, picking up both the Player of the Year and Players’ Player of the Year awards.

The end of season awards were presented by manager Alex Neil at Springfields on Tuesday morning ahead of the final training session of the season as preparations continued for Wednesday’s trip to Ashton Gate.

Johnson picked up the two big awards after making over 30 appearances this season and has been a key player for Alex Neil’s side once again this season, he’s currently the club’s leading goalscorer this campaign with 12 from the middle of the park and six assists.

The Goal of the Season award went to Tom Barkhuizen, his winner against Blackburn Rovers in the 3-2 comeback win at Deepdale the runaway winner in the fans’ vote.

It was a fantastic finish from Barky which topped off a memorable derby day victory having come from two goals down to take the three points.

Two players were rewarded for their efforts in the community, with Declan Rudd awarded the club’s Community Player of the Year award while Louis Moult picked up the PFA Community Champion trophy.

Dec has been a key figure in the PNE Community and Education Trust’s work throughout the season, playing a part in their education programmes and supporting to the Trust’s mental health initiatives, in particular his work with Joe Martin. Read more on that here.

Louis, who won the community award last year, has continued his efforts in the local area and in particular the initiatives helping homelessness in the local area.

The Scholar of the Year award was presented to Ethan Walker, who signed his first professional contract earlier this season, putting pen to paper on a deal back in October.

Walker has spent much of the season out on loan gaining valuable experience of first team football and has been training regularly with the first team during that time.

Congratulations to all of our winners on their deserved awards!

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account