Skip to main content Skip to site footer
First Team News

Line-Up Confirmed For 2023/24 Championship Season

29 May 2023

First Team News

Line-Up Confirmed For 2023/24 Championship Season

29 May 2023

Following the conclusion of the Premier League campaign and the Sky Bet EFL Play-Offs, the line-up for the 2023/24 Championship season has now been confirmed.

On Saturday evening, Luton Town came out on top on penalties at Wembley over Coventry City, meaning Mark Robins’ side will compete in the second tier again next season following an impressive campaign which saw them finish fifth.

With Southampton already relegated, there were three teams looking to avoid the drop to the Championship on the final day of the Premier League campaign.

Everton went into Sunday knowing victory at home to AFC Bournemouth would be enough for their safety to be secured and a stunning strike from Abdoulaye Doucouré earned them those three points to retain their top-flight status.

That made Leicester City’s victory at home to West Ham United redundant as their fate was sealed, alongside Leeds United’s, who return to the Championship after three seasons in the Premier League.

The weekend of action came to a close in the most dramatic of circumstances at Wembley on Monday when Barnsley and Sheffield Wednesday came head to head in the League One Play-Off final.

In an all-South Yorkshire clash, Barnsley went down to ten men in the 49th minute but it looked as though they’d done enough to take the game to penalties, until Josh Windass popped up with a promotion-winning header with almost the last touch of the game – in the third minute of stoppage-time in the second half of extra-time.

Sheffield Wednesday will join League One champions Plymouth Argyle and runners-up Ipswich Town in the Championship next season.

Fixtures for the 2023/24 Championship campaign will be announced at 9am on Thursday 22nd June.

Full 2023/24 Championship line-up:

Birmingham City
Blackburn Rovers
Bristol City
Cardiff City
Coventry City
Huddersfield Town
Hull City
Ipswich Town
Leeds United
Leicester City
Norwich City
Plymouth Argyle
Preston North End
Queens Park Rangers
Rotherham United
Sheffield Wednesday
Stoke City
Swansea City
West Bromwich Albion

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account